Kansas Broadband & Telecom News - July 2025
KCC Approves List Of 16 Companies To Undergo KUSF Year 28 Audit
July 29, 2025 – The Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC) has approved and adopted a list of 16 telecommunications providers that have been selected to undergo audits for the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Year 28 (March 2024 – February 2025). The KCC Docket Number for the proceeding is Docket 24-GIMT-229-GIT. The list of audit companies was submitted by Vantage Point Solutions (VPS), the administrator for the KUSF. VPS has statutory responsibilities for collecting and auditing information regarding telecommunication service providers receiving funds from the KUSF. Selection was based on the KCC’s approved Carrier Audit Selection Criteria. The 16 companies account for approximately $11.06 million, or 30.13%, of the total $36.7 million of assessments contributed to the KUSF. VPS will perform each audit consistent with the KUSF Carrier Audit Procedures. The table below shows the 16 communications providers that will undergo a KUSF FY28 audit:
KCC Approves Amendment To Cox Communications VSA To Include Ozawkie, Kansas
July 29, 2025 – The Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC) has approved Cox Communications’ application to amend its state-issued Video Service Authorizations (VSA). Cox’s application requested its VSA be amended to include Ozawkie, Kansas. Ozawkie is a city in Jefferson County, Kansas, that is located adjacent to Perry Lake. The KCC Docket Number for the proceeding is 07-CXKC-621-VSA.
KCC Order Applies Pro-Rata Reductions To RLEC Annual KUSF Support Amounts
July 15, 2025 – The Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC) has issued an Order Adopting KUSF Pro-Rata Support Adjustments in the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Year 29 docket (25-GIMT-141-GIT). The Order adopts the KCC Telecom Staff’s June 20, 2025 Report & Recommendation containing pro-rata reductions to each Rural Local Exchange Carrier’s (RLEC) annual KUSF support amount. The total amount of annual KUSF support distributed to all local exchange carriers operating under traditional rate of return regulation is capped at $30 million pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2008(e)(3). Once total RLEC KUSF support hits the $30 million cap, each RLEC’s annual support amount is pro-rated based on the amount of support each RLEC would have received absent the cap.
The KCC previously issued orders recalculating RLEC KUSF support amounts in May and June 2025 for individual carrier increases and a decrease. In the instant order, a recalculation of KUF support amounts was needed because the KCC issued an order that adopted revised rates and revenues in Docket No. 25-GIMT-164-GIT, effective July 1, 2025, and the conclusion of the five-year amortization period allowed for rate case expense for Blue Valley Tele-Communications, Inc. in Docket No. 20-BLVT-218-KSF. Below is a table showing the unadjusted Year 29 total amount of KUSF support for RLECs, which is the amount of KUSF support RLECs would be receiving if not for the cap on total support.
Kansas BEAD Benefit Of The Bargain Round Application Window Opens July 16th & Closes July 30th
July 15, 2025 – The Kansas Office Of Broadband Development (KOBD) has announced it will open the Broadband Equity, Access, and Deployment (BEAD) Program “Benefit of the Bargain Round” on July 16, 2025, and close it on July 30, 2025. Specifically, the application portal will open at 1:00 p.m. on July 16th and will close at 5:00 p.m. July 30th. KOBD also has announced it will conduct a Technical Application Webinar at 11:00 a.m. on Wednesday, July 16th. Interested parties can register for the webinar online. KOBD also has released the following Benefit of the Bargain Round resources: Technical Application User Guide, Location List Template, Data Dictionary , and Scoring Rubric. In accordance with BEAD requirements, KOBD will continue to enforce a “quiet period” until the end of its subgrantee selection process. Any questions about the Kansas BEAD program will not be responded to by KOBD unless they are emailed directly to kdc_BEAD@ks.gov or brought up during a public BEAD office hour hosted by KOBD.
IdeaTek Requests KCC Hearing On KUSF FY27 Audit Report And Findings Of KUSF Non-Compliance
July 14, 2025 – Ideatek Telcom, LLC (IdeaTek) has requested a hearing on the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Fiscal Year 27 (FY27) (March 2023 – February 2024) audit report issued by the KUSF administrator, VantagePoint Solutions, Inc. (VPS). Ideatek has requested that the hearing address the disputed issues as set out in IdeaTek’s response to the VPS audit report and its response to the KCC Telecom Staff’s reply to IdeaTek’s response.
IdeaTek underwent a KUSF audit for KUSF FY27, with VPS issuing the results of the audit in a June 30, 2025 report. VPS identified four findings resulting from the IdeaTek’s non-compliance with the KCC’s KUSF policies, with a net impact to the KUSF of a decrease of $93,175.23. Ideatek is directly challenging three of the four findings, and has put forth other objections and arguments that it “believes…have not previously been presented to the Commission for specific consideration.” The KCC Docket Number for the proceeding is 25-WLDT-100-KSF.
Fiber Assetco LLC Applies For Certificate Of Convenience And Authority To Provide Local Exchange & Exchange Access (CLEC) Services In Kansas (Without Providing Voice Services)
July 11, 2025 – Fiber AssetCo LLC (Fiber AssetCo or Applicant) has filed an application with the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC) requesting a Certificate of Convenience and Authority (COC) to provide facilities-based and resold local exchange and access telecommunications services in Kansas. Authority is requested in the service territories and exchanges of Southwestern Bell Telephone Company d/b/a AT&T Kansas, United Telephone Companies of Kansas d/b/a CenturyLink, and all other service territories that are currently open to competition. In its application, Fiber AssetCo states that it “only seeks a Certificate to provide facilities-based and resold local exchange telecommunications services that do not require an interconnection agreement in the State of Kansas.” Specifically, Fiber AssetCo states that it “does not intend to offer voice services at the present time and does not seek authority to do so.” Also, the application is being filed in connection with a larger transaction. The KCC Docket Number for the proceeding is 26-FACT-022-COC.
Fiber AssetCo “is a newly formed company and is not currently authorized to provide intrastate telecommunications service in any state.” Fiber AssetCo’s indirect parent is Crown Castle Fiber LLC, which is authorized to provide intrastate telecommunications services in the District of Columbia and every state except Alaska. Crown Castle Fiber LLC is authorized to provide resold and facilities-based local exchange and interexchange telecommunications services pursuant to COCs issued by the KCC in Docket Nos. 19-CCFT-084-COC, 19-CCFT-085-COC on October 23, 2018.
Crown Castle Fiber LLC intends to transfer certain fiber assets and customers to Fiber AssetCo in order to separate CCF’s fiber and small cells businesses in connection with the above-referenced larger transaction whereby a subsidiary of Front Range Intermediate, Inc. (an intermediate corporate parent of Zayo Group, LLC) will acquire Fiber AssetCo LLC and a subsidiary of EQT Active Core Infrastructure Fund will acquire Crown Castle Fiber LLC.
In Exhibit B to its application, Fiber AssetCo has provided the following additional information on the CLEC services it intends to provide:
Applicant seeks authority to provide facilities-based and resold local exchange and access telecommunications services throughout the state of Kansas. Applicant is simultaneously filing a separate application for authority to provide interexchange telecommunications services. Applicant proposes to begin providing telecommunications service in Kansas shortly after it has obtained the requisite Commission certification but no later than upon completion of the above referenced transfer of certain fiber assets. Applicant's business is building communications solutions for enterprise and carrier customers individually for each project’s needs. Applicant seeks to provide primarily facilities-based Dark Fiber, Private Line, Ethernet, Wavelength, Dedicated Internet Access and Collocation services to wholesale (e.g., other carriers) and customers in government, health care, education, financial services, and other enterprises. Applicant seeks authority to provide local exchange services in all areas that are currently open, or become open in the future, to competition so that it may expand into other services as warranted by market conditions. Applicant does not intend to offer voice services at the present time and does not seek authority to do so. To the extent Applicant may provide voice telephone services in the future, Applicant intends to use the existing local exchange boundaries and established local calling scope of the incumbent local exchange carriers in Kansas. Applicant concurs with the maps and exchange boundaries filed with the Commission by the incumbent local exchange providers, including AT&T and CenturyLink. Accordingly, a map of Applicant’s proposed service area is not attached. Applicant will perform network and equipment maintenance necessary to ensure compliance with any quality-of-service requirements. Applicant will comply with all applicable Commission rules, regulations and standards, and will provide safe, reliable and high-quality telecommunications services in Kansas. At this time, Applicant does not intend to have personnel located in Kansas. Responsibility for Kansas operations will be handled by Applicant's current management team from its Texas headquarters.
Fiber Assetco LLC Files Application For Certificate Of Convenience And Authority To Provide Interexchange Telecommunications (IXC) Services In Kansas (Without Providing Voice Services)
July 11, 2025 – Fiber AssetCo LLC (Fiber AssetCo or Applicant) has filed an application with the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC) requesting a Certificate of Convenience and Authority (COC) to provide facilities-based and resold interexchange telecommunications services throughout the State of Kansas. In its application, Fiber AssetCo states that it “does not intend to offer voice services at the present time and does not seek authority to do so.” Also, the application is being filed in connection with a larger transaction. The KCC Docket Number for the proceeding is 26-FACT-021-COC.
Fiber AssetCo “is a newly formed company and is not currently authorized to provide intrastate telecommunications service in any state.” Fiber AssetCo’s indirect parent is Crown Castle Fiber LLC, which is authorized to provide intrastate telecommunications services in the District of Columbia and every state except Alaska. Crown Castle Fiber LLC is authorized to provide resold and facilities-based local exchange and interexchange telecommunications services in Kansas pursuant to COCs issued by the KCC in Docket Nos. 19-CCFT-084-COC, 19-CCFT-085-COC on October 23, 2018.
Crown Castle Fiber LLC intends to transfer certain fiber assets and customers to Fiber AssetCo in order to separate CCF’s fiber and small cells businesses in connection with the above-referenced larger transaction whereby a subsidiary of Front Range Intermediate, Inc. (an intermediate corporate parent of Zayo Group, LLC) will acquire Fiber AssetCo LLC and a subsidiary of EQT Active Core Infrastructure Fund will acquire Crown Castle Fiber LLC.
In Exhibit B to its application, Fiber AssetCo has provided the following additional information on the IXC services it intends to provide:
Applicant's business is building communications solutions for enterprise and carrier customers individually for each project’s needs. Applicant seeks to provide primarily facilities-based Dark Fiber, Private Line, Ethernet, Wavelength, Dedicated Internet Access and Collocation services to wholesale (e.g., other carriers) and customers in government, health care, education, financial services, and other enterprises. Applicant seeks authority to provide interexchange services statewide throughout Kanas. Applicant does not intend to offer voice services at the present time and does not seek authority to do so. Applicant will comply with all applicable Commission rules, regulations and standards, and will provide safe, reliable and high-quality telecommunications services in Kansas. At this time, Applicant does not intend to have personnel located in Kansas. Responsibility for Kansas operations will be handled by Applicant's current management team from its Texas headquarters. Applicant will primarily provide services using its own facilities, which will be assigned from CCF, and facilities leased from other carriers, but also seeks authority to provide service for resale. Applicant does not have plans to deploy specific facilities in Kansas at this time.
Zayo Network Services, LLC Applies For Certificate Of Authority To Provide Resold And Facilities-Based IXC Services In Kansas (Without Providing Voice Services)
July 9, 2025 – Zayo Network Services, LLC has filed an application with the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC) requesting a Certificate of Convenience and Authority to provide resold and facilities-based interexchange telecommunications services in Kansas. The KCC Docket Number for the proceeding is 26-ZNST-019-COC. Zayo Network Services, LLC is a Delaware limited liability company and wholly owned, indirect subsidiary of Zayo Group, which is a wholly owned, direct subsidiary of Zayo Group Holdings, Inc. Generally, the company provides “bandwidth infrastructure and interconnection services over regional and metropolitan fiber networks,” which enable its customers “to manage, operate, and scale their telecommunications and data networks.” Its customers are primarily “wireless service providers, national and regional communications service providers, media/Internet/content companies, governments, banks, and other bandwidth-intensive enterprises.” Zayo Network Services, LLC has provided the following description of the services it plans to provide and how they will be provided:
“Applicant seeks authority to provide facilities-based and resold interexchange telecommunications services throughout the state of Kansas. Applicant is simultaneously filing a separate application for authority to provide local exchange and exchange access telecommunications services. Applicant plans to provide facilities-based point-to-point telecommunications services, such as Ethernet and other similar high-bandwidth services, for high-speed data transport. Applicant proposes to provide services primarily using its own facilities, which will be assigned from Zayo Group. Applicant will provide services to enterprise customers and to other communications providers on a wholesale basis and does not intend to directly serve residential customers. Applicant does not intend to offer voice services at the present time and does not seek authority to do so. Applicant will perform network and equipment maintenance necessary to ensure compliance with any quality of service requirements. Applicant will comply with all applicable Commission rules, regulations and standards, and will provide safe, reliable and high-quality telecommunications services in Kansas. At this time, Applicant does not intend to have personnel located in Kansas. Responsibility for Kansas operations will be handled by Applicant's current management team from its Denver, Colorado location.”
Zayo Network Services, LLC Applies For CLEC Certificate Of Convenience And Authority (Without Providing Voice Services)
July 9, 2025 – Zayo Network Services, LLC has filed an application with the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC) requesting a Certificate of Convenience and Authority to provide facilities-based and resold local exchange and exchange access telecommunications services. Authority is requested for the incumbent local exchange carrier service territories of Southwestern Bell Telephone Company d/b/a AT&T Kansas and United Telephone Companies of Kansas, Inc. d/b/a Brightspeed (formerly CenturyLink), and all other service territories that are currently open to competition. The company is seeking authority to provide facilities-based and resold local exchange telecommunications services that do not require an interconnection agreement in Kansas. The KCC Docket Number for the proceeding is 26-ZNST-020-COC. Zayo Network Services, LLC has provided the following description of the services it plans to provide and how they will be provided:
“Applicant seeks authority to provide facilities-based and resold local exchange and exchange access telecommunications services in the incumbent local exchange carrier service territories of AT&T Kansas and Brightspeed. Applicant is simultaneously filing a separate application for authority to provide interexchange telecommunications services. Applicant plans to provide facilities-based point-to-point telecommunications services, such as Ethernet and other similar high-bandwidth services, for high-speed data transport. Applicant proposes to provide services primarily using its own facilities, which will be assigned from Zayo Group. Applicant will provide services to enterprise customers and to other communications providers on a wholesale basis and does not intend to directly serve residential customers. Applicant does not have any current plans to provide switched voice local retail services or switched voice interexchange services to customers in Kansas. Applicant concurs with the maps and exchange boundaries filed with the Commission by the incumbent local exchange providers, including AT&T and Brightspeed. Accordingly, a map of Applicant’s proposed service area is not attached. Applicant will perform network and equipment maintenance necessary to ensure compliance with any quality of service requirements. Applicant will comply with all applicable Commission rules, regulations and standards, and will provide safe, reliable and high-quality telecommunications services in Kansas. At this time, Applicant does not intend to have personnel located in Kansas. Responsibility for Kansas operations will be handled by Applicant's current management team from its Denver, Colorado location.”
KCC Telecom Staff Issues Reply To IdeaTek’s Challenge Of KUSF FY27 Audit Report’s Findings Of Non-Compliance
July 3, 2025 – The Telecom Staff of the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC or Commission) has filed a reply to IdeaTek Telcom, LLC’s (IdeaTek or Company) response to a Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Fiscal Year 27 (FY27) (March 2023 – February 2024) audit report issued by the KUSF administrator, VantagePoint Solutions, Inc. (VPS).
IdeaTek underwent a KUSF audit for KUSF FY27, with VPS issuing the results of the audit in a June 30, 2025 report. VPS identified four findings resulting from the IdeaTek’s non-compliance with the KCC’s KUSF policies, with a net impact to the KUSF of a decrease of $93,175.23. Ideatek filed a response directly challenging three of the four findings, and has put forth other objections and arguments that it “believes…have not previously been presented to the Commission for specific consideration.” The KCC Telecom Staff’s reply, which refutes IdeaTek’s claims, is summarized below, along with the audit findings and IdeaTek’s responses:
Finding No. 1 – IdeaTek reported and collected the KUSF surcharge on the following non-assessable revenues: Alarm Lines, Fax Lines, EFax, EFax Service + ATA, MessageView (SMS Services), Mid America Computer Corp, Subscriber Line Charge, Subscriber Multi-Line Charge, PRI (Phone equipment), Elan & Eline Services, Intrastate Private Line Data Circuits revenue, and Interstate Private Line Data Circuit revenue. This resulted in the Company over-reporting and over-paying the KUSF assessment, and over-collecting the KUSF surcharge by $135,387.73.
IdeaTek Response: IdeaTek agrees the revenue categories in Finding No. 1 are non-assessable. However, the Company believes it should be allowed to recover a refund from the KUSF for this amount since the Company has previously paid it into the KUSF. This will allow IdeaTek to then issue refunds to its customers.
KCC Staff Reply: IdeaTek reported and collected the KUSF surcharge on certain non-assessable services and then reported them as intrastate revenues from March 2022–February 2025. The Company over-collected $135,387.73 from its customers and overpaid its KUSF contributions by $135,387.73. IdeaTek is eligible for a credit or refund from the KUSF in the amount of $135,387.73; the Company has not been prohibited from obtaining a refund as contended. However, because the total amount IdeaTek over-collected from its customers is $223,795.74, the $135,387.73 is subtracted (offset) from that amount leaving $88,408.01 that was over-collected from the Company’s customers but was not remitted to the KUSF. IdeaTek must comply by filing true-ups for KUSF years 26–28 as required by the Audit Report to ensure “[a]ny contributions in excess of distributions collected in any reporting year shall be applied,” before a credit or refund for an excess remittance from the KUSF may occur.
Finding No. 2 – IdeaTek did not report the following assessable revenues to the KUSF: Late Fees, Compliance Fees, Regulatory Fees, and Manual Billing Processing Fees. This resulted in the Company under-reporting and under-paying the KUSF assessment by $34,038.71.
IdeaTek Response: VPS is correct that IdeaTek did not report revenues to the KUSF for these fees, but these fees are not assessable for KUSF purposes for the following reasons: K.S.A. 66-2008(a) prohibits the Commission from requiring IdeaTek to contribute to the KUSF under a different contribution methodology than it uses for purposes of the FUSF; and These fees are not “intrastate telecommunications services net retail revenues” under Kansas statutes and Commission order.
KCC Staff Reply: The Commission has determined that the methodology IdeaTek uses is a “safe harbor” methodology, as such it is deemed reasonable for KUSF compliance purposes. This safe harbor methodology determines the allocation of interstate and intrastate revenues. Interstate revenues are reported to the FUSF. Any inverse revenues are ipso facto allocated as the intrastate contribution to KUSF. Contribution methodology does not refer to whether a revenue type is reported, rather it refers to how the allocation between interstate and intrastate reported revenues is made (in this case, safe harbor). The Company has consistently misconstrued contribution methodology to include Late Fees, Compliance Fees, Regulatory Fees, and Manual Billing Processing Fees. They are not considered as factors in the safe harbor contribution methodology that IdeaTek elects to utilize. Because these fee revenues are not part of the methodology, they are not reported to FUSF. Therefore, the Commission does “not require…[IdeaTek] to contribute to the KUSF under a different contribution methodology than such provider uses for purposes of the federal universal service fund, including for bundled offerings.” Contrary to IdeaTek’s contention, the Commission has previously determined that late fees, billing fees, and other customer fees are telecommunications services fees and that they are reportable by telecommunications carriers to the KUSF. As a VoIP provider, IdeaTek is required to contribute to the KUSF on an equitable and nondiscriminatory basis.
Finding No. 3 – IdeaTek over-collected the KUSF surcharge from customers in some months to recover under-collection of the KUSF surcharge in other months. This resulted in the Company over-collecting its KUSF assessment by $88,408.01.
IdeaTek Response: IdeaTek adjusts KUSF surcharges assessed to its customers when it estimates that it has collected less or more than the Company’s KUSF contribution in the previous month. IdeaTek performs these true-ups to comply with K.S.A. 2008(a) which states that the Company “may collect from customers an amount equal to such carrier's, utility's or provider's contribution…” Ultimately, the Company’s intent is to collect the maximum annual contribution permitted by statute from its customers, but no more. A monthly internal true-up complies with the statute. Importantly, nothing in the KUSF statutes prohibits this true-up. The statutes do not require that monthly collections be equal to or less than KUSF contributions paid for that same month. It would not be practical to impose this requirement since the auditor makes determinations on a monthly basis when the Company’s filing is annual.
KCC Staff Reply: VPS conducted the audit of IdeaTek in accordance with the Commission’s KUSF Review Procedures. The Audit Report provides a detailed analysis to support the VPS findings. Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2008(a) IdeaTek is allowed to collect an amount equal to or less than its KUSF assessment from its customers and does so. 31 IdeaTek explains that there are many accounting or billing challenges to align recovery of the KUSF surcharge on a monthly basis and that K.S.A. 66-2008(a) does not state that monthly collections must be equal to or less than fees paid for that month. 32 However, IdeaTek’s “monthly internal true-up” is intentionally charging a different rate in any given month from the 11.37% authorized rate as ordered by the Commission for KUSF year 27. 33 VPS, the KUSF administrator, considered the over-collection of the assessment rates in some months as billing system limitations and recommended IdeaTek’s billing system be updated to correct customer surcharge over-billing in any single billing period. 34 As it stands, IdeaTek over-collected $88,408.01 from customers during the period March 2022–February 2025 through their “monthly internal true-up” which was not remitted to the KUSF. The net result of IdeaTek’s implementation of a monthly internal true-up violates K.S.A. 66-2008(a) by over-collecting the Commission's approved assessment rate.
Finding No. 4 – IdeaTek included assessable and non-assessable revenues in its write-offs that were reported on its monthly Carrier Remittance Worksheets (CRWs). This resulted in the Company under-reporting its revenue and under-paying it KUSF assessment by $8,173.79.
IdeaTek Response: IdeaTek has no objection to VPS’ Audit Finding No. 4 or its recommendation.
KCC Staff Reply: Staff concurs with IdeaTek’s response to Audit Finding No. 4 including that IdeaTek reported assessable and non-assessable revenues in its write-offs that were reported on its monthly CRWs resulting in the Company under-reporting its revenue and underpaying its KUSF assessment by $8,173.79.
High Plains Telecommunications And The Pioneer Telephone Association File K.S.A. 66-1213a Notice
July 2, 2025 – High Plains Telecommunications, Inc. and The Pioneer Telephone Association, Inc. have filed a K.S.A. 66-1213a notice with the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC). The two companies are affiliated entities that are subject to the jurisdiction of the KCC. The notice filing concerns a pledge and security agreement in which High Plains is acting as a guarantor for The Pioneer Telephone Association. The KCC Docket Number for the proceeding is 26-PNRT-016-CPL.
Kansas Office Of Broadband Development Opens BEAD Program “Benefit Of The Bargain Round” Registration Portal
July 1, 2025 – The Kansas Office Of Broadband Development (KOBD) has opened the Broadband Equity, Access, and Deployment (BEAD) Program “Benefit of the Bargain Round” registration portal. Pursuant to the National Telecommunication Information and Administration (NTIA) policy notice that revised many of the BEAD Program requirements, KOBD must conduct an additional BEAD subgrantee selection round, which requires KOBD to re-open the prequalification processes for interested applicants. KOBD has released an updated Benefit of the Bargain Round preregistration process user guide. KOBD also has released a revised BEAD Registration Playbook - Tips for Success.
ETC Tracker: 10 ETC Applications Currently Pending Before The Kansas Corporation Commission
July 2025 – There are currently nine eligible telecommunications carrier (ETC) applications pending before the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC). Five applications request an initial designation as a Lifeline-only ETC. One application was filed by an entity that has been designated as an ETC and is seeking an expansion of its ETC service area. Three applicants are seeking relinquishment of their entire ETC designations. One applicant is seeking a partial relinquishment of its ETC designation. The dockets for all of the ETC applications, along with the initial filing dates are listed below:
23-DWLZ-676-ETC – DISH Wireless L.L.C. Application for Designation as an Eligible Telecommunications Carrier in the State of Kansas for the Limited Purpose of Providing Lifeline Service to Qualifying Customers (application filed March 27, 2023) (application amended September 8, 2023)
24-IMTT-515-ETC – IM Telecom, LLC d/b/a Infiniti Mobile's Application for Designation as an Eligible Telecommunications Carrier (application filed January 23, 2024) (application amended March 29, 2024)
24-TCCZ-659-ETC – Application of TruConnect Communications, Inc. Application for Designation as an Eligible Telecommunications Carrier (application filed April 4, 2024) (Staff Report and Recommendation filed June 18, 2025).
25-GOMT-124-ETC – Application of Go MD USA LLC For a Limited Designation as an Eligible Telecommunications Carrier for the Purpose of Offering and Operating a Lifeline Service for Low Income Consumers (application filed August 9, 2024) (Revised Application filed June 20, 2025).
25-VMBZ-235-ETC – Application of the Assurance Wireless USA, L.P. to Expand its Eligible Telecommunications Carrier Designated Service Area and to Receive Lifeline Support for Eligible Services (application filed December 6, 2024).
25-AVWZ-250-ETC – Application of Air Voice Wireless, LLC for Designation as an Eligible Telecommunications Carrier Under the Telecommunications Act of 1996 for Lifeline Purposes Only (application filed December 23, 2024).
25-SWBT-364-MIS – Petition of Southwestern Bell Telephone Company, LLC d/b/a AT&T Kansas for an Order Confirming Relinquishment of Eligible Telecommunications Carrier Designation in Specified Areas (application filed March 27, 2025).
25-USCZ-367-ETC – USCOC of Nebraska/Kansas, LLC Petition for Relinquishment its Designations as an Eligible Telecommunications Carrier Under 47 U.S.C. Section 214(e)(2) (application filed March 31, 2025) (Staff Report and Recommendation filed June 30, 2025).
25-MWKT-402-ETC – Mercury Wireless Kansas, LLC’s Application to Amend its ETC Designated Service Area and for Approval to Relinquish ETC Designation in RDOF Census Blocks Being Returned (application filed May 12, 2025).
25-SKYT-561-ETC – Skybeam, LLC Application for an Order Confirming Relinquishment of its Eligible Telecommunications Carrier Designation (application filed June 25, 2025).
New Kansas Corporation Commission Telecom Dockets Opened In July 2025
26-PNRT-016-CPL – High Plains Telecommunications, Inc. and The Pioneer Telephone Association, Inc. K.S.A. 66-1213a Notice Filing.
26-ZNST-019-COC – Application of Zayo Network Services, LLC for a Certificate of Authority to Provide Resold and Facilities-Based Interexchange Telecommunications Services in the State of Kansas (IXC).
26-ZNST-020-COC – Application of Zayo Network Services, LLC for a Certificate of Authority to Provide Resold and Facilities-Based Interexchange Telecommunications Services in the State of Kansas (CLEC).
26-FACT-021-COC – Application of Fiber AssetCo LLC for a Certificate of Authority to Provide Resold and Facilities-Based Interexchange Telecommunications Services in the State of Kansas (IXC).
26-FACT-022-COC – Application of Fiber AssetCo LLC for a Certificate of Authority to Provide Resold and Facilities-Based Local Exchange Telecommunications Services in the State of Kansas (CLEC).
26-CELZ-029-KSF – Audit of CELLCO PARTNERSHIP by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-ALTC-030-KSF – Audit of ALLTEL CORPORATION by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-CRKT-031-KSF – Audit of CRAW-KAN TELEPHONE COOPERATIVE, INC. by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-USCT-032-KSF – Audit of BRIGHTSPEED OF SOUTHERN KANSAS, INC by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-ECSO-033-KSF – Audit of SECURUS TECHNOLOGIES, LLC. by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-NTWZ-034-KSF – Audit of NEX-TECH WIRELESS, LLC. by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-EFNT-035-KSF – Audit of EVERFAST FIBER NETWORKS LLC by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-SASV-036-KSF – Audit of SPECTRUM ADVANCED SERVICES, LLC by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-TMCZ-037-KSF – Audit of T-Mobile by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-SMLV-038-KSF – Audit of Spectrum Mobile LLC by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-DWLZ-039-KSF – Audit of Dish Wireless, LLC by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-CYBT-040-KSF – Audit of Brightspeed Broadband LLC by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-GNIV-041-KSF – Audit of Greenfly Networks Inc. by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-BWIV-042-KSF – Audit of Bandwidth, Inc. by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-KPRC-043-KSF – Audit of K-POWERNET, L.L.C. by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.
26-CBVV-044-KSF – Audit of Chicago Business VoIP, Inc. by the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) Administrator Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2010(b) for KUSF Operating Year 28, Fiscal Year March 2024-February 2025.



